Claudia Alejandra McDonald Bøen

Claudia Alejandra McDonald Bøen, Ph.D

Chief Executive Officer

Claudia A. McDonald Bøen is leading the research team at Arctic Pharma AS. Claudia has experience in both academia and industry. Claudia has been involved in designing cancer diagnostic tools, drug development and commercialization of products for scientific use prior to joining Arctic Pharma.

Claudia received her Master of Science degree from San Francisco State University in 2008. Her master studies focused on developing and applying methods for analyzing the glycoproteome in breast cancer cells. That same year Claudia cofounded a proteomics software company, Proteome Solutions. Claudia graduated in 2013 with a PhD in biological chemistry from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. Claudia’s doctoral work focused on studying the mechanism of flavin-dependent enzymes by kinetics and spectroscopy.

Members of the Board

Eirik Næss-Ulseth

Eirik Næss-Ulseth, M.Sc

Executive chairman of the board

Eirik Næss Ulseth holds a Master of Science (M.Sc.) and a Master of Business Administration (MBA). He has the last 20 years been working with establishing and developing high technology companies within electronics, IT and biotechnology.

Anne-Lise Børresen-Dale

Professor Anne-Lise Børresen-Dale M.D, Ph.D.

Board member

Anne-Lise Børresen-Dale is Professor at University of Oslo and head of Dept of Genetics, Oslo University Hospital Radiumhospitalet. She is among the leading geneticists in research on molecular biology of breast cancer, and her group was among the pioneers in expression profiling of breast carcinomas in collabora¬tion with groups at Stanford.Her achievements are seminal for understanding breast cancer evolution, and have had an enormous impact on our view of the complexity of breast cancer. She is author of more than 400 published scientific papers, books chapters and invited reviews. Børresen-Dale has since mid-2011 been director of the K.G. Jebsen Center for Breast Cancer Research with a major funding from the K.G. Jebsen Foundation.

Bjørn Steen Skålhegg

Professor Bjørn Steen Skålhegg, Ph.D.

Board member

Bjørn Steen Skålhegg holds a Ph.D. in biochemistry from the Institute for Basic Medical Sciences at the University of Oslo. He did his postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Washington, Seattle, USA and has been a full professor at the University of Oslo Medical School since 2001

Gunnar Hvammen

Gunnar Hvammen

Board member

Mr. Hvammen has a degree from Norwegian Business School (BI). Mr. Hvammen has been an independent founder, investor, CEO and board member in numerous companies, including S.D. Standard Drilling Plc, Songa Offshore ASA and Spectrum ASA.

Tore Jahnsen

Professor Tore Jahnsen, M.D, Ph.D.

Board member

Tore Jahnsen is a co-founder and Board Member of Arctic Pharma, Rheumatech and Spermatech. After his MD (1982), Ph.D. (1983) from the University of Oslo he spent two years as a Research Associate at Department of Cell Biology, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas. He was a founder and board member of the biotech company MedProbe from its start in 1986 to it was sold in 2008. From 1992 he has been a full Professor in Department of Medical Biochemistry at the University of Oslo. In 1992 he received Anders Jahres award for young scientists. He is an author of more than 140 scientific publications.

Sigurd Ørstavik

Sigurd Ørstavik, M.D, Ph.D.

Board member

Sigurd Ørstavik holds a Ph.D. from the University of Oslo and has extensive experience from positions in both public and private health companies. Such positions includes post doc at the University of Oslo/Norwegian Cancer Society and Medical Advisor at Novartis AS, as well as attending physician at Oslo University Hospital, Department of oncology. Ørstavik is an author of numerous publications, and is currently the Medical Director Local Operating Company Norway of Takeda AS.

Ken R. Rosendal

Ken R. Rosendal, M.Sc.

Board member

Ken Rosendal holds a Master of Science (M.Sc) in biochemistry from the University of Bergen. Including a 4 year stay at the EMBL Heidelberg, he has broad experience in drug discovery, biochemistry, cell biology and structure biology. For the last 9 years he has been the CEO of Spermatech AS, and he is a co-founder of Arctic Pharma AS. Ken is currently employed as Director of R&D at ConceptoMed AS.